Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) History and Records

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is a franchise cricket team that represents the city of Kolkata in the Indian Premier League (IPL). KKR was founded in 2008 and is owned by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta. In this article, we will take a look at the history and records of Kolkata Knight Riders.

KKR History and Records, KKR IPL Trophy, KKR Achivments


Kolkata Knight Riders had a disappointing start to their IPL journey as they finished in the bottom half of the table in the first three seasons. However, in 2011, they made it to the playoffs for the first time and eventually won the tournament. KKR won their second IPL title in 2012 and have also finished as runners-up in 2014, 2017, and 2019. KKR has gone through several changes in their coaching staff over the years. John Buchanan was the first head coach of KKR, but he was replaced by Dav Whatmore in 2009. In 2011, Gautam Gambhir was appointed as the captain of the team, and he led them to two IPL titles before he was released by the franchise ahead of the 2018 season. In the 2020 season, KKR appointed former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum as their head coach, and Eoin Morgan took over as the captain midway through the tournament.


KKR has the highest total in IPL history. They scored 245/6 against Kings XI Punjab in 2018. Sunil Narine has the best bowling figures for KKR in IPL history. He took 5/19 against Kings XI Punjab in 2012. Andre Russell has the highest individual score for KKR in IPL history. He scored 88* off just 36 balls against Chennai Super Kings in 2018. Brendon McCullum scored the first-ever century in IPL history. He scored 158* off just 73 balls in the opening match of the IPL 2008, playing for KKR against Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gautam Gambhir is the leading run-scorer for KKR in IPL history. He scored 3345 runs in 122 matches for the franchise. Sunil Narine is the leading wicket-taker for KKR in IPL history. He has taken 128 wickets in 120 matches for the franchise. KKR holds the record for the most consecutive wins in IPL history. They won nine matches in a row during their title-winning campaign in 2014.


Kolkata Knight Riders have had a mixed history in the IPL, but they have been one of the most consistent teams in the tournament over the last decade. With a strong team and experienced coaching staff, they will be looking to add to their two IPL titles in the upcoming seasons.

Post a Comment