Mumbai Indians (MI) History and Records

Mumbai Indians is a franchise cricket team that represents the city of Mumbai in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is owned by India's biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, and is one of the most successful teams in the history of the tournament. In this article, we will take a look at the history and records of the Mumbai Indians.

Mumbai Indians (MI) History and Records, MI IPL Trophy, MI Achivments


The Mumbai Indians were founded in 2008 and made their debut in the IPL in the same year. The team is captained by the legendary Indian batsman Rohit Sharma and coached by former Sri Lankan cricketer Mahela Jayawardene. The team has always been known for its strong performances in the tournament, and is one of the most successful teams in IPL history. The Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title in 2013, under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. Since then, they have won the tournament four more times, in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. They are the only team to have won the IPL title five times.


Highest team total: The Mumbai Indians' highest team total in the IPL is 223/6, scored against the Kings XI Punjab in the 2017 season. This is the second-highest team total in the history of the IPL. The Mumbai Indians chased down the target of 224 in just 19.3 overs, thanks to a blistering century by the West Indian batsman Evin Lewis. Highest individual score: The highest individual score by a Mumbai Indians batsman in the IPL is 175 not out, scored by Rohit Sharma against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2017 season. Rohit Sharma's innings included 13 fours and 12 sixes and helped the Mumbai Indians post a mammoth total of 214/6. Most runs: The leading run-scorer for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL is Rohit Sharma. He has scored 5480 runs in 207 matches at an average of 31.47 and a strike rate of 130.06. He is also the only player to score over 5000 runs for the Mumbai Indians. Most wickets: The leading wicket-taker for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL is Lasith Malinga. The Sri Lankan fast bowler has taken 170 wickets in 122 matches at an average of 19.80 and an economy rate of 7.14. He is also the highest wicket-taker in the history of the Mumbai Indians. Best bowling figures: Alzarri Joseph holds the record for the best bowling figures by a Mumbai Indians bowler in the IPL. He took 6/12 against the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2019 season. Joseph's performance helped the Mumbai Indians restrict the Sunrisers Hyderabad to a total of 96/9, which they chased down easily to win the match.


The Mumbai Indians are one of the most successful teams in the history of the IPL, thanks to their consistent performances and strong team culture. With a star-studded line-up that includes the likes of Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Kieron Pollard, the Mumbai Indians have been a force to be reckoned with in every IPL season. Their success in the tournament can be attributed to their strong batting and bowling line-ups, as well as their ability to perform under pressure. The Mumbai Indians will be looking to continue their winning ways in the upcoming seasons of the IPL, and with the right mix of experience and young talent, they have the potential to win many more titles in the future.

Post a Comment